President Robert Mugabe has sworn in a 9-member Gender Commission as stipulated by Section 245 of the constitution of Zimbabwe.

The Gender Commission will be chaired by Mrs Margaret Sangarwe-Mukahanana the former permanent secretary in the then Ministry of Environment and Tourism. 

Other members of the commission are Dr Nyepudzai Nyangulu, Mrs Sibongile Mauye nee Chambakale, Ms Naomi Chimbetete, Mr Obert Matshalaga, Mr Victor Nkiwane, Dr Paul Kadzima, Mr Peter Mawonera, Chief Chikwizo and Mrs Tsungirirai Hungwe.

It is charged with the task of investigating possible violations related to gender, receive and consider complaints from the public and take such action in regard to the complaint as it considers appropriate.

The commission is also tasked with monitoring issues concerning gender equality as provided by the constitution and recommend affirmative action programmes to achieve gender equality.

It has the duty of carrying out research into issues relating to gender and social justice. The commission recommends changes to laws and practices which lead to discrimination based on gender. 

It is also mandated to recommend prosecution for criminal violation of rights related to gender.
It will also advise private and public institutions on steps to be taken to ensure gender equality. 

Meanwhile, President Mugabe has also sworn in Mr Qhubani Moyo and University of Zimbabwe Dean of Law Faculty Emmanuel Magade as members of the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission, replacing ZEC officials Geoff Feltoe and Mkhululi Nyathi who left at the end of the 2013 elections.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.